Allan Takes Aim Blog

Old events in new costumes

Posted on: 31 January 2013


Old events in new costumes

If the organisers hoped the Centenary celebrations would create the impression of Canberra as the Capital of Progress, Innovation, Culture and the Arts I think they will be disappointed. How on earth can this impression be created when many programmed events are old events dressed in new costumes?

In the same way as many programmes on our new TV channels are repeats of programmes as old as Canberra’s main demographic, the Centenary is taking the old saying ‘everything old is new again’ to new heights.

Although I might be growing long in the tooth I have fond memories of birthday parties made exciting and entertaining spontaneously. As I grew older and my tastes changed so did parties. But one thing didn’t change: my hope that the parties would still be exciting and entertaining.

To digress, having worked for decades in the local tourism industry which is hoping the Centenary will fill beds and rattle tills, I trawled the Centenary website hoping to see messages that substantiate the industry’s hopes. I was looking for messages designed to stir the latent jingoism in Australians that would encourage them to cancel an already planned overseas visit for a trip to Canberra.

Sad to say, the messages on the website did little to suggest they would encourage such a thought. Bear in mind that prospective tourists, Australian and overseas, will look at the same site. One hopes they don’t reach the same conclusion as me.

In terms of infrastructure and physicality Canberra is a young city yet the website seems designed to appeal more to an ageing demographic. And so I ask: where are the ideas from young people that some of an older demographic will think zany? They may be there, but if they are they are not obvious, so why expect young people to visit?

This is not to say the photographs on the website are not useful, but I have to say that during my sixteen and twenty five years age span, it was not that I didn’t enjoy some moments of cultural appreciation but in the main my mind was focused elsewhere. I suspect that in this regard things are still the same.

Don Allan
dca@netspeed.com.au blog: Allan Takes Aim; web: donallan.wordpress.com

6 Responses to "Old events in new costumes"

Howdy sir, you have a really nice blog layout “

Richie,

Thanks for the mail. However, didn’t notice your name among the graduates. Perhaps you graduated earlier.

Regards,
Don
donallan.wordpress.com; dca@netspeed.com.au

Hi there, I discovered your web site by means of Google at the same time as searching for a related topic, your site got here up, it appears great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks..watch

I have been reading out some of your posts and i can state nice stuff. I will surely bookmark your website. .watch

I’m so happy to read this. This is the type of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc..See

I like this website very much so much superb info . “Tell me who admires you and loves you, and I will tell you who you are.” by Charles Augustin Sainte-Beauve.

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
