Allan Takes Aim Blog

What is fabulous wealth Dr Emerson?

Posted on: 4 April 2013


My latest blog is always available at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. To make direct contact e-mail me at: dca@netspeed.com.au

What is fabulous wealth Dr Emerson?

Not that I want to frighten anybody but if you’re young and had the great Australian dream of retiring on superannuation that will allow you to live comfortably in retirement the first thing you should do is comb the shelves in your home library, not forgetting the shelves in the lavatory because probably that’s where you keep them and gather up the copies of all the books and pamphlets about superannuation you’ve acquired over the years, that promised a sure – fire way of how to do it.

And if you live in Canberra, the next thing you should do is call a local charity and tell them you’ve got a roomful of material that will walk off the book stall at their next fete. On the other hand if you are nearing retirement age or are retired already, you might feel so gutted about the reduction in your superannuation nest egg you don’t want to wait until the next election to have your say about it.

But if they then ask ‘are you quite sure you want to dispose of this material?’ you should tell them you couldn’t be surer because new superannuation rules that Federal Parliamentarian and Federal Minister Dr Craig Emerson has been blathering about.

The fact is, it seems the superannuation nest egg you set your heart on that would allow you live comfortably in retirement will get smaller whereas the superannuation nest eggs of Federal Politicians’ like Dr Emerson’s, will get bigger.

On the other hand if you are nearing retirement age or are retired already, you might feel so gutted you don’t want to wait until the next election to make sure that Dr Emerson does not return to Parliament. Not that I make any recommendation other than to encourage you and your peer group to try and make certain that this happens. You might even feel that it’s not too late to aim at becoming a Federal Parliamentarian and a Minister.

As for myself, I must advise that I have no superannuation of any kind. I rely on being supplied by the state (to which I have contributed much) with enough money to keep the wolf from the door. Mind you, if the wolf got past the door expecting to feast on me and my wife I think it would be very disappointed.

In truth I am simply one of those old curmudgeons, who, as some would have it, finds it difficult to understand how Australia can say to migrants whether or not they came on 457 visas or are native born Australians that as a country it is willing to give you the opportunity of becoming fabulously wealthy without saying at what point does one becomes fabulously wealthy and also without once mentioning that once you reach this mysterious figure your superannuation will get taxed more heavily than that of everybody else, Federal Politicians excepted.

Comments welcome

.

3 Responses to "What is fabulous wealth Dr Emerson?"

Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
Anyways, just wanted to say superb blog!

Bravo! I couldn’t have said it differently myself.

Great writers aren’t aplenty – I think you have done a amazing job here. Nice Job.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
