Allan Takes Aim Blog

An outsider looks in on politics

Posted on: 9 April 2013


My latest blog is always available at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. To make direct contact e-mail me at: dca@netspeed.com.au

 

An outsider looks in on politics

Is there a man or woman living who can say they’ve never told a lie? If there is and you know one you nominate them immediately for a Nobel Prize.  Although I haven’t decided in which category it should be lodged perhaps by the time I come to the end of this blog I might have made up my mind although it isn’t something I can guarantee

Let me emphasise also that the nominee must be living if only to avoid nominations of people such as George Washington, 1st President of the United States of America who, as Pastor Weems, one of his biographers claimed, chopped down his mother’s cherry tree by mistake while chopping down her pea sticks When challenged about chopping it down, George is reported to have owned up adding ‘‘I cannot tell a lie’. While the story of the remark might not be true like many remarks in history, even if mythical, it will last forever.

As to why it is necessary for nominees to be living: the reason is simply to avoid the list being so long that many judges would die of old age before the prize winner had been decided. Come the election of ACT Federal candidates in September, Canberra voters will have the opportunity of judging if any of the candidates will match George for honesty.

Having no party allegiance I always make up my own mind on who to vote for. But being interested in both Australia’s and Canberra’s future I will subject myself to watching these putative MPs and Senators posturing as they strut the political stage declaiming policies they claim will benefit Australia and Canberra.

Sadly these claims will merely reiterate claims made in precious campaigns. Even more sadly when candidates are challenged about these policies, unlike George Washington, they launch a torrent of confected sorrow all the while claiming that either circumstances or the opposition were to blame for them not being adopted.

As the election is still months away, I haven’t yet decided which candidate (s) might be worth voting for. I am attracted to Gai Brodtmann the sitting Labor candidate for Canberra because she seems to think being an MP an honour and doesn’t look down on people. I can’t comment on Senator Kate Lundy, except to say, that as I think people should not spend more than two terms in Parliament perhaps she should think of standing down.

Of the political men Andrew Leigh MP sitting Member for Fraser and former professor at Australian National University, is running again. Academically gifted he has also become a darling of the media and those who think themselves Canberra’s political cognoscenti. Others, however, think that like social celebrities he has become so ubiquitous in the media that he has become an irritant.

Next is Zed Seselja, soon to be an ex Liberal MLA but the new ACT Liberal Candidate for the Senate. And while I’m not much interested in the recent infighting that took place before he finally managed to win selection I hope that, if elected, he shows the same determination to pursue policy issues as he did selection.

Last but not least is Greens hopeful Simon Sheik. My impression of Simon is that he seems to have fallen into the trap of believing that as a former executive of ‘Get Up’ means he will be elected automatically. At the same time he seems to have started to believe his own publicity.

I am not in doubt that as a former director of ‘Get Up’ he is a smart young man.  But on my reading of the words of the ACT’s political oracles I suspect at the September election he is more likely to be ‘Let Down.’

Last words: I think he has much to learn and I still haven’t made up my mind.

Comment welcome.    

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
