Allan Takes Aim Blog

Life’s four great professions

Posted on: 12 May 2013


My latest blog is always available at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. To make direct contact e-mail me at: dca@netspeed.com.au

Life’s four great professions

This particular blog did not come as the result of inspired thought but because an old envelope with a large and bright red capital P stamped on it that I had rescued from a collection of old envelopes, was sitting on my desk in front of the computer. For the life of me I can’t remember where the envelope came from but, no doubt when it came a letter was enclosed advising me of some wonder product that would make my life better, or a request for a donation from a charity I had never heard of.

However, while musing about what the P stood for it suddenly dawned on me that P was the first letter of four words that described four great professions: performer, priest, politician and prostitute professions which, in many ways, are associated with acting, a career I always wanted to take up. In fact my army discharge book shows acting as the choice of my future.

You might disagree and favour philosophy, psychology, policing and psychiatry. If you do, so be it. Perhaps you’re right, but nonetheless I’ll stick to my chosen four.

The reason for my choices:

First choice: Performer

Throughout my working life I have been described as many things, often uncomplimentary, as a performer as, indeed, as have many of you. Don’t believe me? Indeed, if you could look at reports about your working life almost certainly you will have been described as excellent performer; good performer; moderate performer; or poor performer. I am sure also that, like me, while you will be in complete agreement with the first description you will quarrel with the second and strongly refute three and four.

Second choice: Priest

A lot of people won’t agree with me that being a priest is a great profession but for millenniums the priesthood has attracted many people, even if for the wrong reasons. In my own case though it was only for a short period, I felt called to the priesthood, which, when I gave it up, left my mother distraught. And while my mother was distraught at my decision, the order I had entered was probably thankful.

But my brief association was illuminating. Indeed as I spoke to others who professed the same call it seemed to me that some wanted to be priests because subconsciously, they found the public rituals of priesthood satisfied their desire for recognition in the same way as actors.

Third choice: Politician

For many people being a politician is no longer a vocation but a profession because like the priesthood, it satisfies peoples’ need for recognition, something they achieve when playing in a parliament’s comedy of error. Unlike actors, many stay on the political stage until the audience decides they have had enough of their bad acting.

Unlike actors, however, most politicians are well paid with good conditions and very good perks. It is unfortunate, however, that some gain fame not because of their acting prowess in their parliamentary comedies of error but for exceeding the lawful use of their political power in the search for even better perks.

Fourth choice: Prostitute

Now you might find it strange to find me saying that being a prostitute is to be a member of a great profession. These days, of course, in civilised parts of the world (with some exceptions) prostitutes have been replaced by sex workers.

I can’t speak for male philosophers or psychologists but it is known that, over the years, priests and politicians have enjoyed the professional services of sex workers. But what makes it a great profession is that having members of two two such professions using their services they seem to have the best of all worlds: priests to save their soul; and politicians as patrons. I can only add that my research indicates low unemployment in this profession.

Comment welcome.

If you would like to receive these blogs automatically you can RSS it or become a follower by using the ‘follow’ connection at bottom right of the published page

29 Responses to "Life’s four great professions"

I am usually to blogging and i really appreciate your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and maintain checking for brand spanking new information.

Rifftype

I read this really great post today.

U have a great site over here. I just wanna say thanks for all the interesting information on it. I’ll follow your website if you keep up the good work!

I just want to say I’m new to blogs and absolutely loved you’re blog. Likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You absolutely have outstanding stories. Appreciate it for sharing your web page.

I simply want to mention I am just new to weblog and truly loved your page. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You really come with really good articles. Thanks for revealing your web site.

Very good write-up. I certainly appreciate this site. Continue the good work. Thanks!

I have got one idea for your web site. It seems like right now there are a number of cascading stylesheet problems while opening a number of web pages within google chrome and safari. It is working okay in internet explorer. Probably you can double check this.

Although I genuinely like this post, I believe there was an punctuational error close towards the finish from the third paragraph.

Have you considered including a few social bookmarking links to these sites. At the very least for flickr.

Can you email me with any pointers on how you made your website look like this, Id be appreciative.

This is really a amazing web site, could you be interested in doing an interview about just how you developed it? If so e-mail myself!

The structure for the weblog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your website. I may have to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

This site has got some extremely useful info on it. Thank you for sharing it with me.

Excellent write-up. I absolutely appreciate this website. Keep it up. Thanks!

A cool post there mate ! Thank you for it .

Great – I should certainly say I’m impressed with your blog. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs and related info. The site ended up being truly easy to access. Great job..

I’m pretty pleased to uncover this site. I need to to thank you for ones time for this particularly wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every part of it and i also have you bookmarked to look at new stuff in your site.

When are you going to post again? You really entertain a lot of people!

Thanks for the compliment though I’m not sure everyone will agree with you.

On the question of posting, depending on my state of health I usually post once a day post once a day late in the afternoon or early in the evening Australian time

Just Browsing

While I was browsing yesterday I saw a excellent post about

Almost all of the remarks on this particular weblog dont make sense.

As the writer of the blog I would be pleased if you would send a blog privately that you think makes sense and let me publish it. Oon The other hand you con log on to donallan.wordpress.com and put your reply in the comment blog at the end of the blog.

If you dont mind, where do you host your web site? I am hunting for a great web host and your webpage appears to be fast and up all the time

It is a wordpress web site: donallan.wordpress.com

I enjoy your wp design, where did you get a hold of it?

I got it form wordpress

I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

I’m glad I found your article. I would never have made sense of this topic on my own.
I’ve read several other articles on this subject, in spite
of this I was confused until I read yours.

Tumblr article

I saw someone talking about this on Tumblr and it linked to

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
