Allan Takes Aim Blog

Will Australia’s Opposition be a good alternative Government?

Posted on: 18 May 2013


My latest blog is always available at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. To make direct contact e-mail me at: dca@netspeed.com.au

Will Australia’s Opposition be a good alternative Government?

Haven’t blogged for a few days due to illness. That I am recovering is due partly to the good news I had helped an old friend, who has been unemployed for some time, to get a job.

Self – praise ended, my last blog was about the budget brought down last Tuesday by Wayne Swan, Treasurer in Australia’s Labor Government. While perhaps not of great interest to all my overseas followers, it could, nonetheless, be of interest to some of them for comparison purposes with the budgets of their own country.

I described the budget as being like a curate’s egg (good in parts) which I also suggested had more than a whiff of robbing Peter to pay Paul, an opinion that did not go down particularly well with long standing Labor voters and  members of the Labor autocracy.

However, as custom dictates, at least to this blogger, just as I commented on Wayne Swan’s budget speech, the reply of Tony Abbott, Liberal, and Leader of the Liberal/National coalition Opposition, is also worthy of comment.

Before offering my opinion about Mr Abbott’ reply let me preface it with the comment that it was the opinion of most of Australia’s prominent political commentators that he would not provide details of what his budget would be if he became PM after the election in September, an election that most of them have assumed he will win. However, if their prediction about the election is as good as their prediction about the likely content of his speech, could they have counted their chickens before they were hatched.

The fact is, in his speech. Mr Abbott confounded them by doing the opposite of what they had predicted by providing details they didn’t’ expect. At the start of his speech, it was clear that Mr Abbott was nervous. Was this due to the fact that some of what he was about to say might make some of his supporters nervous, such as announcing that he would accept some of the Government’s proposals albeit that in some cases he reserved the right to change his mind when, if elected, he found the economy worse than expected.

At the same time however, he was unequivocal in his intention to repeal the carbon tax, a tax that the government had said on many occasions that it would never introduce and also unequivocal that he would support Disability Care (NDIS) introduced by the Labor. He was also unequivocal that pensioners would not lose anything by any measures he might have to introduce if he became Prime Minister.

After a few minutes his early nervousness disappeared and a confident Mr Abbott appeared. As he spoke his usual negativity had disappeared and even the bad news items such as a reduction of 12,000 federal public servant jobs by attrition were delivered with a conviction that suggested most voters would understand the necessity of making such decisions.

But perhaps the best sentiment expressed in his speech was his words that if elected he would be a Prime Minister of Australia not one who governed to meet the wishes of some party members and he would do that because he would listen to what voters, regardless of their politics, told him.  Does this herald a return to truth in politics and will voters be able to cast aside their cynicism and just vote for the best ideas? One would hope so.

However, I would be more pleased if the constitution could be altered to say that no MP or Senator could hold their position for more than two parliaments. Yes I’ve heard the arguments about people doing a good job should be retained to which I reply that, if they sincerely wish to do a good job for Australia, like millions of other Australians, they can do it even after they leave Parliament.

Comment welcome.

If you would like to receive these Articles automatically you can RSS it or become a follower by using the ‘follow’ connection at bottom right of the published page.

23 Responses to "Will Australia’s Opposition be a good alternative Government?"

Discipline once learned like a child, can not be unlearned.

PTN utilises state of a person’s art technology and simply a modern procedure to learning.

Unfortunately politicians turn that phrase on its head.

I just want to tell you that I’m all new to blogging and site-building and really savored you’re website. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You really have really good articles. Thank you for sharing with us your webpage.

Very usefull blog I must say. The words you say are generally right, but I do not agree on everything you write.
I will be back to see what else you have to say and what the reaction of other people on your blog . Keep up the good work.

With the support of many traditionally Labor voters—dubbed ” Howard battlers “—Howard and the Liberal-National Coalition swept to power on the back of a 29-seat swing. This was the second-worst defeat of an incumbent government since Federation. With a 45-seat majority—the second-biggest majority in Australian history (behind only Fraser’s 55-seat majority in 1975)–Howard came into office in a strong position. By this time, as he put it, he had “very clear views on where I wanted to take the country”.

What do you think will happen in September. Why not send a contribution for publication? Don

Awesome post ! Thank you for, posting on this blog page mate! I will message you soon. I didnt realise that!

Great Stuff, do you currently have a twitter profile?

Have you considered including several social bookmarking buttons to these blogs. At least for twitter.

After I start your Rss feed it seems to be a lot of garbage, is the issue on my side?

Have you given any kind of consideration at all with converting your current site in to Spanish? I know a couple of of translaters here that might help you do it for free if you wanna make contact with me personally.

Not a tech so can’t help you

Already posted to Twitter

Yes. Twitter and facebook.

Weird , your posting turns up with a black color to it, what shade is the primary color on your site?

When are you going to post again? You really inform me!

Your article has proved to be helpful to me. It’s really informative and you are obviously really knowledgeable in this area. You’ve opened my eyes to varying views on this subject with interesting and solid information.

I simply want to tell you that I’m very new to weblog and actually liked your blog. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You actually have incredible well written articles. Regards for sharing your web-site.

This website is very cool! How was it made !?

When are you going to post again? You really entertain me!

It is pleasing to know that the blog entertains you. Long may it last. As for my next blog, I usually post once a day so why not put donallan.wordpress.com and make reading my blog a daily habit?

Tumblr article

I saw a writer writing about this on Tumblr and it linked to

You’re so cool! I don’t believe I’ve truly read through a single thing like this before. So great to find somebody with original thoughts on this subject. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This website is something that is needed on the internet, someone with a bit of originality! http://video.littleorangecat.com/read_blog/114524/leading-hottest-celebrity-with-medicine-addictions

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
