Allan Takes Aim Blog

The winner of hearts and minds will win the next election

Posted on: 20 May 2013


My latest blog is always available at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. To make direct contact e-mail me at: dca@netspeed.com.au

The winner of hearts and minds will win the next election

No doubt members of the Liberal/National Coalition parties, the Labor Party, Coalition and the parties of odds and sods plus Independents hope, that on Saturday 14th September, the voters of Australia will send them to Parliament for the next three years. I don’t know if they’ve ever read Alexander Pope’s ‘Essay on Man ‘in which he said: ‘Hope springs eternal in the human breast’ but from what I hear I think many Labor candidates plus the candidates from the odds and sods parties and independents might need a miracle more than hope springing eternal to get elected.

However, and speaking for myself, if I had the money I would be tempted to go on holiday until voting day, Saturday 14th September, to avoid hearing candidates repeating the same arguments day after day.

And my sanity would benefit also by my not having to read, listen to or watch members of the political commentariat with their obvious political biases give their analysis about the policies of the parties and Independents and their opinion about which ones they think will be successful or failures. I liken many political commentators to spectators at football matches and other events that draw audiences because, if they could be believed, they know how to win better than the players involved. Not that many ever try to put their knowledge to the test.

At the same time I would also escape the paragons of political virtue from various unions, business and other organisations telling the community at large which party or candidates they should vote for. Unsurprisingly the candidates they support are the candidates pushing their agendas. And let me say to readers who say I shouldn’t comment unless I’m prepared to get personally involved in politics I did in 1992 by establishing the Canberra Unity Party and standing five candidates at the 1992 ACT election. Unfortunately, we were not successful.

However, as I am not going on holiday I will continue blogging about September’s federal election and comment on the announcement by the Liberal/National Coalition that has sent shock waves through the ranks of the public service In Canberra. The announcement: if elected in September it will reduce jobs in the public service by 12,000.

Unfortunately, when reported by major players in the Canberra commentariat, this has been reported as the Coalition axing to 12,000 jobs in Canberra. Not true. The truth is, the Coalition has said 12,000 jobs will go by attrition over two years. Effectively because two thirds of the public service is employed outside Canberra, on a pro rata basis 2,000 jobs or 38 jobs will go each week for two years which puts a different face on the policy.

But the ‘axing’ of 12,000 jobs is an example of what can only be described as an example of malicious misinformation designed to advantage the Coalition’s opponents. While this is not to say the Coalition does not do the same what it does say is why voters have become cynical about politics and why they think the statements and promises of politicians are not to be trusted.

 

Such misinformation aside the September election will be one of the strangest because neither current Labor PM Julia Gillard nor Tony Abbott, Leader of the Coalition is liked by the electorate. Making things worse for Labor neither the PM’s deputy nor many of her ministers are liked either and worse still, neither are they trusted.

As a fan of having Independents in parliament, my personal disappointment is that in the current parliament the Independents seemed not to have enough independence to vote for or against government policy on what they thought of it. Instead, and despite their rhetoric to the contrary, they and the Greens effectively joined in coalition with the Government.

Were they right or wrong? That the community clearly seems to be leaning to Abbott and if government is supposed to act on the will of the people, it would still be unwise of Abbott to count his chickens before they are hatched.

Comment welcome.

If you would like to receive these Articles automatically you can RSS it or become a follower by using the ‘follow’ connection at bottom right of the published page.

 

24 Responses to "The winner of hearts and minds will win the next election"

congratulations my friend, your website is awesome, i really appreciate coming here to see what you have. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

Rifftype

I read this really better post today.

I just want to tell you that I am all new to blogging and honestly savored you’re web blog. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You certainly have amazing stories. Appreciate it for sharing your website.

Very good written information. It will be supportive to anybody who usess it, including myself. Keep doing what you are doing – looking forward to more posts.

Informative and precise

Its hard to find informative and accurate info but here I noted

I had been wondering if you ever considered adjusting the page layout of your web site? Its well written; I really like what youve got to say. But maybe you can add a little more in the way of content so people might connect to it better. You have got a great deal of wording for only having one or two photographs. Maybe you can space it out better?

I’m glad you like it but I don’t use photos, I’m strictly a word man

Good – I should certainly say I’m impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs as well as related information. The site ended up being truly simple to access. Great job..

A interesting post right there mate ! Thank you for that .

How did you make this site look this awesome! Email me if you want and share your wisdom. .

Greetings! Very useful advice within this article! It is the little changes that produce the biggest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed is not working today. I tried adding it to my Yahoo reader account but got absolutely nothing.

Im having a small issue. I cant get my reader to pickup your feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

I have got 1 recommendation for your web site. It appears like at this time there are a number of cascading stylesheet issues when launching a selection of webpages in google chrome and safari. It is functioning okay in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check that.

Is it okay to put a portion of this in my personal webpage if perhaps I publish a reference point to this web page?

Go ahead

I just want to tell you that I am just newbie to blogs and absolutely loved you’re page. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You surely come with great articles and reviews. Thanks a lot for revealing your website.

fairly helpful stuff, all round I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thank you

Hi, I do think this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to come back yet again since I saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

Amazing article, cheers, I will bookmark you now.

Tumblr article

I saw someone talking about this on Tumblr and it linked to

Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

I just could not depart your web site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard information a person provide for your visitors? Is going to be back often to check up on new posts

A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you need to publish more on this subject matter, it may not be a taboo subject but usually people do not discuss these subjects. To the next! Cheers!! http://duranbook.com/index.php?p=blogs/viewstory/501101

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
