Allan Takes Aim Blog

What determines happiness?

Posted on: 28 May 2013


My latest blog is always available at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. To make direct contact e-mail me at: dca@netspeed.com.au

What determines happiness?

In case you didn’t know it but a country’s happiness is measured by the strength of its economy. How do I know? I only know because the BBC news website revealed today that in the Better Life Index compiled by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, Australia came first because of its economy. Does this mean that all Australians should all stand up and give three cheers for Australian treasurer Wayne Swan? If so, here’s my contribution: Hip- hip hooray; Hip-hip hooray; Hip- hip hooray.

You’ll be pleased to know the other nine nations in the top ten happiest nations are, in order of merit: Sweden, Canada, Norway, Switzerland, United States, Denmark, The Netherlands, Iceland and the United Kingdom.

Now I’m not in a position to argue with OECD assessment of Australia’s economy or indeed from that assessment conclude that Australia’ is the happiest country in the OECD. I wouldn’t want their experts thinking that I might doubt their assessment because as I analyse the economy that dictates my life style I have to say it is anything but conducive to happiness; suicide, perhaps, but happiness – definitely not.

But just in case I was being unjust to the OECD experts I telephoned half a dozen people I know with the good news. As only two people answered I came to the conclusion the others were so shocked by the report that they had taken to their beds to save turning on their already minimum source of heating earlier than ever.

By the way I forgot to mention that it’s winter in Canberra and temperatures often drop from low to freezing and below so, if you’re a member of Canberra’s low socio economic bloc, you’re already behind the eight ball when it comes to keeping warm never mind happy.

Unlike the latter, people who are members of the same political party as Wayne Swan will also jump on the report and verbally pat the Treasurer of the back complimenting him on doing a good job. I have to say that even if the report had put Australia at the bottom of the list they would still be patting his back because with an election imminent, this is good news.

It could well be true also, that Australia is the OECD’s happiest country, but what the experts seem to forget is that not only does it take more than a good economy to make a country happy it also takes more than a good economy to make individuals happy.

So what are the constituent parts of the OECD report? Do the experts go out and ask residents in cities, towns and villages if they are happy and why or, do they rely on surveys and reports prepared by fellow experts in sociology et al. that go into making people happy?

What the OECD does not seem to realise is that a country needs more than a good economy to create happiness. And while Australia’s current mining boom may cause happiness, booms can rapidly become busts.

Indeed iron ore mines are already in operation in Brazil while African countries which have vast reserves of iron ore and other valuable minerals are opening mines at breakneck speed to take advantage of the demand currently being met by Australia.

When that happens I wonder what position Australia will command in the OECD’s “Better Life Index?”

Comment welcome.

If you would like to receive these Articles automatically you can RSS it or become a follower by using the ‘follow’ connection at bottom right of the published page.

 

 

 

4 Responses to "What determines happiness?"

143378 651671Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this site needs significantly a lot more consideration. Ill probably be once more to read significantly a lot more, thanks for that information. 707930

After research a couple of of the blog posts in your website now, and I actually something like your approach of blogging.
I bookmarked it to my bookmark website listing and
will probably be checking again soon. Pls check out my web page because nicely and let me be acquainted with what you think.

Wow! This could be one particular of the most beneficial blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Wonderful. I’m also an expert in this topic so I can understand your hard work.

57955 889448Oh my goodness! an incredible post dude. Thanks a ton Nonetheless We are experiencing concern with ur rss . Dont know why Cannot enroll in it. Can there be any person locating identical rss dilemma? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx 13570

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
