Allan Takes Aim Blog

Is technology destroying democracy?

Posted on: 30 May 2013


My latest blog is always available at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. To make direct contact e-mail me at: dca@netspeed.com.au

 Is Technology destroying democracy?

The caption may be a slight exaggeration of the present state of state of affairs but, like it or not, the day is looming when if we want to find out what our local parliamentary representative is doing on our behalf we’ll have to check on his /her twitter site to find out. Additionally, if we want to get a message to our representative we have to send it to their parliamentary twitter or e-mail site.

You may disagree with me but, websites aside, there’s no doubt that Twitter is now taking a major role in the parliamentary communication process to the extent that constituents will need to go to a Government’s Twitter site to see any tweets announcing where and when Cabinet will be in attendance to talk to the community.

Sounds very democratic, doesn’t it? But midst the Government’s use of Twitter, what attention does it pay as to how older people without access to Twitter who, even if provided with the technology that would give them access, either through reading and hearing about it had, nonetheless, become anti Twitter or wouldn’t know how to use it. The result: instead of Twitter enhancing their lives they have become prisoners in a society dominated by technology and worse, make their lives and possibly democracy, deteriorate.

Not that all older people are in the same boat. Some can afford the technology that gives access to Twitter and e-mail and can also afford to pay for the advice on how to use it. Unfortunately in Canberra, whose aged population grows by the day, many older people without the necessary financial means find themselves in difficulty.

And so they look for information to guide them. Coming from a generation that relied on the local telephone directory for that purpose they turn to the directory again. Like the phone the directory and information system has changed also. Indeed when they call the information number they face a barrage of instructions that says they can get all the information they need by logging on to: dumb.com.au or, if they hang on they will (eventually) be answered by a human asking: how can I help.

The next stage can be more confusing than helpful because they have to answer questions by pressing numbers on the phone’s keypad. This also makes them even more confused and so they discontinue the call.

This is not an imaginary situation. I have tried to explain the system to my wife – who has a memory problem common to people of her age – and is also intelligent. But intelligent as she is and as hard as she tries, unless she gets an answer immediately, she will discontinue and try again – and again. She also becomes stressed.

Many older people in Canberra are in the same age bracket as my wife but without her problem. Like her, many have not as yet adjusted to the age of technology nor, I suspect will they adjust. And the same thing applies to older people in the rest of Australia and to communities in many other parts of the world.

It seems to me that on a universal basis, it behoves governments to make sure that older people do not get left behind as younger people rush to take up the latest piece of technology. That apart,  who knows how long Twitter and e-mail will last?

Finally the young should remember that without the efforts of these older people they might not be enjoying the technology they currently use. And Governments should do the same.

Comment welcome.

If you would like to receive these Articles automatically you can RSS it or become a follower by using the ‘follow’ connection at bottom right of the published page.

 

 

 

 

17 Responses to "Is technology destroying democracy?"

Great website you’ve here.

Richard Newitter Leerink Swann I mean it seems like few
dermatologist are familiar with the problem through drug testing.
But be careful with the type of how to get rid of acne diagnosed by a dermatologist.
The cause of how to get rid of acne is stress, and diet pills.

After looking over a number of the blog posts on your blog,
I honestly appreciate your technique of writing a
blog. I book marked it to my bookmark site list and
will be checking back soon. Take a look at my website as well and
let me know your opinion.

Howdy! I just want to offer you a big thumbs up for your excellent information
you’ve got right here on this post. I’ll be coming
back to your blog for more soon.

Hi there, this weekend is good designed for me, as this occasion i am reading this
wonderful educational article here at my home.

I usually do not leave many remarks, but i did some
searching and wound up here Is technology destroying democracy?
| Allan Takes Aim Blog. And I do have a couple of questions for you
if you don’t mind. Is it simply me or does it look as if like some of these comments appear as if they are left by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional sites, I’d
like to follow everything new you have to post. Could you list of the
complete urls of your public pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
or linkedin profile?

Have you ever considered writing an e-book or
guest authoring on other blogs? I have a blog centered on the same topics
you discuss and would love to have you share
some stories/information. I know my audience would
enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as
long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
My blog is in the very same niche as yours
and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information
you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
Thanks!

It’s nearly impossible to find experienced people in this particular topic, however, you seem like you know what you’re
talking about! Thanks

Your method of explaining all in this piece of writing is genuinely nice, all be capable
of effortlessly understand it, Thanks a lot.

Great post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m inspired! Very helpful information specially the final part 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I used to be looking for this certain information for a long time. Thanks and good luck.

I really like it when folks get together and share ideas. Great website, keep
it up!

Go ahead. Use what you like. All I ask in return is that you ask people to log on to:
Allan Takes Aim – http://www.donallan.wordpress.com

I am in fact happy to read this webpage posts which consists of tons of valuable data,
thanks for providing these data.

I rarely write comments, but i did some searching and wound up here Is technology destroying democracy?

| Allan Takes Aim Blog. And I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it seem like some of the responses look like they are written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I would like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Could you make a list of the complete urls of all your communal sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Hi there everyone, it’s my first go to see at this site, and post is genuinely fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these articles.

You can definitely see your skills in the work you
write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such
as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
