Allan Takes Aim Blog

Truth should be a permanent value in politics

Posted on: 2 July 2013


My latest blog is always available at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. To make direct contact e-mail me at: dca@netspeed.com.au

 

Truth should be a permanent value in politics

 

The more I watch politicians on TV, listen to them on radio and read their opinions in newspapers, the more I wonder why so many of them had been elected to parliament.  No doubt by way of assurance they promised to tell voters the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth even though the voters who pay them to represent them in parliament think they do that already.

Today, for example, I watched the replay of yesterday’s Q&A on ABC television, which had two serving politicians, the Hon Tanya Plibersek MP, Minister for Health in Kevin Rudd’s alleged new, collegiate and consultative Labor Government and Sophie Mirabella MP, Shadow Minster for Innovation, Industry and Science in the Liberal/National Coalition Opposition, on the panel. .

I’ll be honest. I didn’t manage to watch the whole program but, from the part I did see, I concluded that had viewer voters been polled at the end of the program as to which of the two politicians had answered the questions truthfully, I suspect most would have called it a draw. Now I’m not saying that some of the answers weren’t truthful. No doubt some were, but because they were so convoluted, trying to decide if they were truthful was difficult.

As for the rest of the panel, on the bits I saw, spin doctor Sue Cato having shifted support from Labor to the Liberals on many occasions, now seemed supportive of Kevin Rudd. However, regardless of whether or not she is a spin doctor she will have to work hard to persuade many people who hope his resurrection is but temporary to support him but hope fervently that, after the next election, he will need to be re-interred.

Tom Sampson and Neil Lawrence the other two panelists are in advertising and public relations. In the past both worked on Kevin Rudd’s political campaigns. Indeed it’s possible that one or the other could be involved in Kevin’s next campaign. Mind you I’m doubtful they would try a campaign similar to that when Kevin first became Prime Minister. I can’t imagine a new Kevin 13 campaign if only to prevent bingo callers shouting lucky for some Kevin 13, the unlucky number not having quite the same cachet as the 07 of James Bond.

The only thing I shall say about Tony Jones is that his performance is reminiscent of the 07 Kevin of the past three years.

But today, because truth in politics today seems scarce, I can do no better than end with the words of Alexander Solzhenitsyn a man who knew about truth better than most and spelled it out in an address he made at Harvard, Thursday 8th June 1978.

truth eludes us if we do not concentrate with total attention on its pursuit. And even while it eludes us, the illusion still lingers of knowing it and leads to many misunderstandings.

Voters around Australia should bear that in mind when voting at the next election!

Comment welcome.

If you would like to receive these Articles automatically you can RSS them or become a follower by using the ‘follow’ connection at the bottom right of the published page.

 

 

 

2 Responses to "Truth should be a permanent value in politics"

definitely one of the best Truth should be a permanent value in politics | Allan Takes Aim Blog I stumbled upon so far

More recently, ‘Shady Shields’ is the liar who is also master minding the attack against me with a smear campaign to silence me. He said that I tied to extort him into giving me a bunch of money to keep me from going to “the other side”. In a lifetime of fighting for social justice, I am used to dealing with slime like him. What saddens me and makes me angry is that he has played on human greed to bring dishonor upon the Los Coyotes. Conflict of Interest not a problem for Barstow Politicians -They live in BarWest fantasy landThe extensive Conflict of interest involved in these shameless politicians, having had their campaigns run by Tom Shields and financed largely by BarWest has NEVER given them a restless night nor dampened their assault on the sacred Ancestral Rights of local legitimate tribes, especially the Chemehuevi. While these Barstow politicians are behind the false allegations of me being a being a paid hack for “the other side”, they make it obvious that there is something in it for them that goes way beyond being given a seat on the council. Their zealous attitude in dropping all other business to run up to Sacramento at the smallest snap of the fingers from BarWest has made them totally transparent that their blind loyalty is light years above any possible real concern for the citizens of Barstow.

Leave a Reply

    • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
    • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
    • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
