Allan Takes Aim Blog

Posted on: 9 July 2013


My latest blog is always available at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. To make direct contact e-mail me at: dca@netspeed.com.au

Allan Takes Aim is still in Free Speech Mode

When this blog started it was meant as a replacement for a weekly column of mine that for 19 years had been published every Tuesday in The Chronicle, Canberra, until 28th August 2012.  Unlike The Chronicle, the blog has been published almost daily and while I don’t like to admit it, like other mass produced products, at times the blog’s quality has been poor. When that happened, I began to question if I should continue writing it but was persuaded by friends to continue. Their argument: they thought it was an important avenue of free speech.

However, the original intention of the blog also was to give people wherever they were from and the opportunity to give their opinion on any subject ,provided it wasn’t slanderous or libellous . My own blog is apolitical so if I feel a political party or a politician needs criticising I say so and I do the same if I think praise is called for.

Although this can cause problems with friends fortunately they are people who know that without criticism or praise society will not progress. Indeed without criticism or praise, proposed solutions to some problems, if implemented, could lead to unintended consequences.

It would be hard to think of a previous time where free speech was needed more than it is now.  As man’s knowledge of the world and different peoples expanded so too did the need for free speech else totalitarianism fed by nepotism would have flourished. That it has not is due to free speech promulgating new ideas.

However that is not to say that many people in the world haven’t endeavoured to practice what can be described as benevolent dictatorship, the essence of politics. Can you think of a political party, Labor, Liberal, Democratic or Republican, the appellation doesn’t matter, that doesn’t say to people, support us and we will do what is best for you yet rarely, if ever, accept ideas from outside the party.

At the moment in Australia, Labor Prime Minister Kevin Rudd is attempting to persuade people that he is the answer to their prayers by proposing that rank and file members of the Labor Party will have their say in who will be party leader. This, it is said is a new idea and part of a modernisation process.

But is it a new idea? As I recall, the Australian Democrats canvassed the views of every party member as to who they thought should be their leader. Perhaps this merely goes to show that Samuel Clemens (aka Mark Twain) was right when he said: “there’s no such thing as a new idea.”

That apart, perhaps the saddest thing about this proposal is that it seems to have been developed on the basis that PM Rudd is so confident of remaining PM after the next election that he wants to protect himself from being deposed in the same way as he was deposed in the past and how he, himself, deposed his deposer. But if only to show the venality of many party politicians members will likely fall into line behind each other and support the proposal, even if they don’t agree with it, merely to protect their status and power.

As for the next election, according to the latest opinion polls that every politician says are of no relevance, the battle to become Prime Minister seems to be hotting up. Indeed if politicians are serious about the reformation of government and with opinion polls now becoming the voters’ measure of who they want to lead parliament, perhaps the Prime Minister should be elected separately to other parliamentarians.

The result could be a better Democracy

Comment welcome.

If you would like to receive these Articles automatically you can RSS them or become a follower by using the ‘follow’ connection at the bottom right of the page.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to ""

Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

You have a awesome blog over here. I just wanna say thanks for all the interesting info on it. I’ll follow your site if you keep up the good work!

I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Thanks for the comment. And good reading. Don’t forget to tell your friends about: Allan Takes Aim at: donallan.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
