Allan Takes Aim Blog

A thank you to ‘ordinary’ people

Posted on: 19 August 2013


Allan Takes Aim at: https://donallan.wordpress.com. For direct contact e-mail: dca@netspeed.com.au

Still alive and kicking

Those of you interested in reading Allan Takes Aim may wonder where the blog disappeared to over the past few weeks. Unfortunately my train of thought and capacity to write had been curtailed by a heart condition I didn’t know I had which necessitated hospitalisation.  Less fortunately it also proved to be a condition that could prove fatal if surgery was used to remedy it.

Fortunately, however, I am now on a program of medication that will allow me time to do a lot of things I thought would be denied me. But discovery of the condition also brought me one particular benefit: I can now rebut allegations of heartlessness.

The discovery has also renewed my belief in the adage ‘where there’s life there’s hope‘ a hope that in this case springs from my confidence in the doctors, nurses and the many other staff members of Canberra Hospital who, in attending on people with conditions similar to mine, perform medical miracles on a daily basis.

The other people who need thanking are family members and friends whose support lifted my spirits. My thanks also, go to the Board of the ACT Association for Disabled Sport and Recreation Inc, for its strong support.

But let me now address thanks to another group of people some of whom I have never met except through  ‘Allan Takes Aim.’

Thank you for your support

In a few days the blog Allan Takes Aim (http//:donallan.wordpress.com) the successor to the very successful weekly Don Allan column that ran for 19 years in The Chronicle, Canberra and that you have supported, will celebrate its first birthday.

That the blog has survived is due not only to many readers of The Chronicle who donated fifty dollars, some more but also to those who gave their support in writing plus anonymous contributions from others who helped me continue writing.

Many of these people, like me, think the right of free speech is being eroded to the extent that, unless ‘we’ ‘ordinary’ people – as so often we are described by those who subconsciously in some cases think themselves extraordinary – speak up, our right might be extinguished.

Ironically many of those who use the discriminatory word ‘ordinary’ and preach equality but never practice it, are the very people who jump up and down in confected rage and accuse  ‘ordinary’ people of discrimination when they have done nothing more than use the common language of society. These people delude themselves into thinking that their confected rage gives them an image of being out of the ordinary. And they are: unfortunately they don’t know it.

Let me end my first blog since returning to active life by saying I am humbled by the fact that so many people who knew me only through The Chronicle and the report of the Blog’s launch in Canberra’s City News, made a contribution. To all of you I say: Thank You.

And while not all of those who gave their support agreed with what I wrote, I am hopeful they will continue to help keep the blog alive.

Yours sincerely,

Don Allan OAM

Comment welcome.

If you would like to receive these Articles automatically you can RSS them or become a follower by using the ‘follow’ connection at the bottom right of the page.

 

 

 

9 Responses to "A thank you to ‘ordinary’ people"

Nice job, it’s an excellent post. The info is good to learn!

You did the actual a great function writing and also revealing the actual hidden beneficial features of

… [Trackback]

[…] Read More: donallan.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/3845/ […]

… [Trackback]

[…] Read More Infos here: donallan.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/3845/ […]

… [Trackback]

[…] Read More here: donallan.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/3845/ […]

… [Trackback]

[…] Read More here: donallan.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/3845/ […]

… [Trackback]

[…] Informations on that Topic: donallan.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/3845/ […]

… [Trackback]

[…] There you will find 6780 more Infos: donallan.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/3845/ […]

… [Trackback]

[…] Read More: donallan.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/3845/ […]

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • chilecomex.com: This site was... how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!
  • sua tarefa: I blog often and I truly thank you for your content. This article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
  • ZAP Stun Gun: I love it when people come together and share views. Great site, continue the good work!
